Open Source Industry Australia Limited A.C.N. 109 097 234

Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held in the Derwent Room at Wrest Point Convention Centre, 410 Sandy Bay Road, Sandy Bay, Tas. on 29 October 2015

The Chairman, Mr Jack Burton, opened the meeting at 6:43 p.m..

1. Attendance

The following members were present in person:

- Saosce Pty Ltd (SA) Jack Burton, OSIA Chairman
- GreenwareIT (Vic.) Daniel Jitnah, OSIA Director
- Creative Contingencies (Vic.) Donna Benjamin
- Mnemote Pty Ltd(Vic.) Nick Moore

The following observers were also present:

Mr Peter Lawler, Mr Scott Bragg and Mr John Kristensen

The Chairman advised that no proxies for the meeting had been received.

2. Apologies

The Chairman advised that apologies had been received from: Ryan Cross of Cross Functional Pty Ltd (NSW), OSIA Director; Jessica Field (NSW), OSIA Director; Aimee Maree Forsstrom (NSW), OSIA Director; Paul Foxworthy of Coherent Software Australia Pty Ltd (Vic.), OSIA Director; and Steven Sackett of Adaxa Pty Ltd (Vic.), OSIA Secretary.

It was noted that despite not being able to attend the meeting in person, the Company Secretary Mr Steven Sackett had made himself available by telephone to take any questions from the floor.

3. Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held 4 November 2014 (Southport, Qld)

The minutes of the last AGM were ratified by the Board of Directors at its meeting on 2 December 2014.

It was resolved (Chairman moved; Ms Donna Benjamin seconded) to adopt the minutes without change.

4. Chairman's address

The Chairman addressed the meeting. He first thanked OSIA's sponsors (Open Source Law, Redback Conferencing and iSeek Communications) for their support during the year, Linux Australia for providing a venue for the AGM at OSDC2015 and the Australian Computer Society (Tas. Branch) for providing a venue for the board meeting on the following day. The Chairman then reviewed the achievements of the company during the financial year and since year's end, noting in particular:

- Key projects undertaken during the 2014/15 term had progressed substantially, including:
 - Website refresh project (led by Miss Forsstrom) substantially complete
 - Member Referral System project (led by Mr Foxworthy) substantially progressed, with some issues yet to be resolved. A limited trial is expected by the time of LCA2016.
 - Value Proposition project (led by Ms Field) complete. Also delivered the new tag line: *Amplifying the voice of the Australian open source software industry.*
- Other initiatives & achievements during FY2014/15:
 - Letter to the then Prime Minister, the Hon. Tony Abbott MP & the then Minister for Communications, the Hon. Malcolm Turnbull MP outlining the key role OSS should play in budget repair [Jul 2014];
 - Various interactions with the NSW Department of Finance, Services & Innovation regarding issues the NSW ProcureIT framework [Dec 2014 to present]
 - Joined the Open Invention Network [May 2015]
 - Infrastructure refresh [ongoing]
 - Activities since end of financial year:
 - Submission to IP Australia on abolishing the innovation patent system [Aug 2015]
 - TPP Committee revived [Aug 2015]
 - Two submission to the Commonwealth innovation in government initiative [Oct 2015]
 - Sponsoring OSDC2015 [Oct 2015]
 - Submission to the Productivity Commission's inquiry into IP arrangements [in progress]
- OSIA events held and third-party events participated in:
 - Domestic market event (Adelaide, Oct 2014) featuring keynote speakers Mrs Anastasia Kuusk, Mr Ron Skeoch and the Chairman, entitled *Removing the silos: a future built on unencumbered open standards*.
 - OSIA Director Mr Daniel Jitnah spoke on behalf of OSIA at the Young Professional Accounting Network (Melbourne, May 2015).
 - Informal member event (Melbourne, Jul 2015) end of financial year celebration.

Two directors had retired during the year and the Chairman thanked them for their substantial contributions to the company, namely:

- Mrs Anastasia Kuusk (Director, Mar to Nov 2014; marketing & communications portfolio throughout; also membership & sponsorship portfolio from Jun 2014); and
- Sir Tim Purcell (Director, Mar to Dec 2014; export markets portfolio until 2014 AGM, without portfolio thereafter)

The Chairman also noted that a number of Directors had either joined the board or changed roles since the 2014 AGM and he thanked them for their service: Mr Ryan Cross (elected at 2014 AGM); Miss Aimee Maree Forsstrom (appointed Nov 2014); Ms Jessica Field (appointed Nov 2014); Mr Andrew Cutler (nomination received for the coming term); and Mr Steven Sackett (retired as a Director at the 2014 AGM; appointed Company Secretary the following day).

5. Annual Accounts

The annual accounts as circulated by the Company Secretary Mr Steven Sackett were considered for approval.

It was resolved (Chairman moved; Mr Jitnah seconded) that the annual accounts of the company for the year ended 30 June 2015 be adopted.

6. Appointment of Auditor

The Chairman then drew the attention of members to the need to resolve whether an auditor should be appointed for the current financial year. He explained that the Constitution of the Company at Clause 61 requires that an auditor be appointed as provided in the Corporations Law. Clause 71 provides that the accounts should be audited in accordance with the provisions of the Corporations Law. Presently the Company is of a type and scale that is not required by the Corporations Law to be audited. The Directors have continued the practice of prior financial years by adopting the view that an audit is not required but ask the Members for their confirmation.

It was resolved (Chairman moved; Mr Jitnah seconded) that no auditor be appointed for the year ended 30 June 2016.

7. Election of Directors

The Chairman declared the board vacant and advised the meeting that nominations were received from the following members for election as Directors of the Company, to serve until the next Annual General Meeting:

- Jack Burton (Saosce Pty Ltd, SA)
- Ryan Cross (Cross Functional Pty Ltd, NSW)
- Andrew Cutler (Panubo, NSW)
- Jessica Field (self-employed, NSW)
- Aimee Maree Forsstrom (self-employed, NSW)
- Paul Foxworthy (Coherent Software Australia Pty Ltd, Vic.)
- Daniel Jitnah (Greenware IT, Vic.)

The Chairman noted that at the Annual General Meeting held in December 2010 (Rhodes, NSW), the Members resolved that the number of Directors of the Company shall be eight. The Constitution of the Company, Clause 37, requires that nominations shall be lodged with the Secretary at least 21 days before the Annual General Meeting. At the close of nominations only the above seven nominations had been received.

It was resolved (Chairman moved; Mr Nick Moore seconded) that the persons named above, being members or nominated representatives of members, be appointed as directors of the company, to serve until the next Annual General Meeting.

8. General Business

There were no items of general business to consider.

There being no further business, the Chairman closed the meeting at 7:16 p.m.

Signed in accordance with a resolution of the Annual General Meeting as being a complete and accurate record of the proceedings of this meeting.